Benigno C. Aquino III is RP’s 15th President

June 10, 2010

Benigno “Noynoy” C. Aquino III was finally proclaimed by Congress as the 15th President of the Republic of the Philippines. His proclamation came after 8 days of canvassing by a joint congressional committee. Aquino obtained a total of 15,208,678 votes, while his nearest rival, former president Joseph Estrada, got 9,487,837 votes or a difference of 5,720,841 votes. Makati mayor Jejomar C. Binay was also proclaimed as Vice-President following a close victory over his rival, Senator Mar Roxas.

In accordance with Section 4, Article VII of the 1987 Constitution, Aquino and Binay will formally assume their office on June 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply