Republic Act No. 9729 – “Climate Change Act of 2009”

December 3, 2009

The Climate Change Act of 2009 was recently signed into law by President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo. Among the highlights of the law are:

  • It establishes a Climate Change Commission which shall be an independent and autonomous body and shall have the same status as that of a national government agency. It shall be attached to the Office of the President. The Commission shall be the sole policy-making body of the government which shall be tasked to coordinate, monitor and evaluate the programs and action plans of the government relating to climate change pursuant to the provisions of this Act. The Commission shall be organized within sixty (60) days from the effectivity of this Act. (Section 4, RA 9729)
  • The Commission shall be composed of the President of the Republic of the Philippines who shall serve as the Chairperson, and three (3) Commissioners to be appointed by the President, one of whom shall serve as the Vice Chairperson of the Commission. (Section 5, RA 9729)
  • The Commission shall meet once every three (3) months, or as often as may be deemed necessary by the Chairperson. The Chairperson may likewise call upon other government agencies for the proper implementation of this Act. (Section 6, RA 9729)
  • The Commissioners must be Filipino citizens, residents of the Philippines, at least thirty (30) years of age at the time of appointment, with at least ten (10) years of experience on climate change and of proven honesty and ntegrity. The Commissioners shall be experts in climate change by virtue of their educational background, training and experience: Provided, That at least one (1) Commissioner shall be female: Provided, further, That in no case shall the Commissioners come from the same sector: Provided, finally, That in no case shall any of the Commissioners appoint representatives to act on their behalf. The Commissioners shall hold office for a period of six (6) years, and may be subjected to reappointment: Provided, That no person shall serve for more than two (2) consecutive terms: Provided, further, That in case of a vacancy, the new appointee shall fully meet the qualifications of a Commissioner and shall hold office for the unexpired portion of the term only: Provided, finally, That in no case shall a Commissioner be designated in a temporary or acting capacity. The Vice Chairperson and the Commissioners shall have the rank and privileges of a Department Secretary and Undersecretary, respectively. They shall be entitled to corresponding compensation and other emoluments and shall be subject to the same disqualifications. (Section 7, RA 9729)

Read more on the Climate Change Act of 2009 in our Recent Laws Page.

Leave a Reply